BEST UV/ Basking bulb for my 55 gallon?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I bought a cheap bulb from petco, and it's not really heating up the tank.I was wondering what type of bulbs do you guys use? Is the T-Rex bulb good? Which watt should I use?Any other suggestions?

halffrozen

Hatchling Member
Powersun MVB 150W, for a 55g tank... you may need an additional heat emitting source, like a CHE(Ceramic Heat Emitter). Since the 55g is quite tall.

halffrozen

Hatchling Member
You know, I am quite new to all this really.. but I am just suggesting what I am using currently that is working for me.

But, the Reptisun 10.0 I would think can be used in conjunction with the Powersun... I think, I have heard of people using to UVB bulbs before. I had actually, and WILL be when I get a new bulb for my T5HO be using both the Powersun and Reptisun together.

But for a basking spot bulb for heat and just plain ole' light, you can get a clear bulb for the heat. I hear they work great, and are VERY cheap.

Soulwind

Sub-Adult Member
If you've already got a ReptiSun 10 for UV, and just want light/heat for basking
(which is what it sounds like), just use any old Halogen SpotLight/FloodLight from
your local hardware store.

For a 55 gallon, 55-75 watts will probably be sufficient unless you're room is unusually cool
(it may even be too much, those lamps get really hot. If so use a lamp dimmer on it).

FYI: a 55 gallon is really too small for most adult beardies. 55 gallon tanks are fine on length
at 48" but are too narrow at 12" (meaning about 11 1/2" internally) for most beardies.

Robert0151

Original Poster
Yeah, I think I may go with the flood light. And I am using the 55 gallon for a 6 in baby. She most likely will get a bigger custom tank when she's bigger.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Members online

Still Needs Help

Latest resources

Latest posts

Latest profile posts