flash

Status
Not open for further replies.

Goonie

BD.org Sicko
Retired Moderator
[Moved from General to Website Comments]

Where do you see the [flash] tag?? I see . . .
"", "", "", "
", "
Code:
", "[list]", "[list=]", "[*]", "[img]", and "[url]", but no "[flash]".

BeardyDragon

Juvie Member
Original Poster
theres a thingy that says "[flash] is OFF" where it says:

BBCode is ON
is ON
[flash] is OFF
[url] is ON
Smilies are ON

beardie

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Administrator
Founder
Beardie name(s)
Cailyth, Pinky, & Brain
No flash. That is correct. While many people think it's the most wonderful thing in the world, this is my view:

1. I see VERY little need that people need to embed Flash applications or videos into a bearded dragon forum.

2. Flash is EVIL! Okay... maybe a little strong, but let me point out my view as an information security professional (what I do for a living). Flash (along with Adobe Reader and Adobe Acrobat, which technically have a LOT of the same programming code used across the different applications) is one of the BIGGEST reasons Malware is spread. Viruses, trojans, etc... Flash is a HUGE cause. Why? Because it enables a website (ANY WEBSITE) to technically run code on your computer. Under normal circumstances, that code is relatively limited and contained.... except... there are CONSTANTLY vulnerabilities in Flash (one new one just this week, possibly 2) that can result in an attacker running whatever they want on your computer! Usually this means your computer (along with the other half of average joe users on the Internet, not really aware of how hostile an environment the Internet actually is when it comes to viruses and worms, and personal and financial stealing programs running on computers you didn't want it to) ends up being part of a botnet. Maybe it's used to commit financial fraud on someone else (using your computer), or maybe just to send 500,000 spam emails a day (this is actually a common number; I've seen it first hand