Starting a Dubia Colony

Status
Not open for further replies.

snowdragon

Hatchling Member
What will I need to start one? I am very new to Dubia so I need all the info I can get. Are they for the dragons? And from what I can tell its going to be much cheaper this way. TIA

ajkry2

Gray-bearded Member
From research it'll cost a little less than 150 for the starter roaches you need... I think you need about a 2:1 ratio males:females. PM Janie about this, shes a pro and a BIG roach advocate. Her name is zebraflavencs or something along those lines. I'm sure she'll be happy to tell you anything you need to know.

Look in the For Sale section, people are basically giving them away. Unless you want a "more reputable" roach source, then hit up Jason at The Roach Guy's Website -- he has quality, great sales, and good cutomer service :D

Sidenote: I'm thinkin about starting one too.

snowdragon

Hatchling Member
Original Poster
I think starting one up will save me money and its such a PITA to catch the crickets that get out.

ajkry2

Gray-bearded Member
I have an abundance of crix right now, but I'll probably start one up too, end of this month-ish...

Just gotta get the heat pad and I got what I need... Probably post up a thread with some instructions on how to start one I'll letcha know :)

DragonsInKansas

Sub-Adult Member
I started my colony several months ago and just in the past week or so the population has just exploded. It's the greatest thing ever not having to buy crickets anymore!!

SugaReina

I suggest you talk to Ian from the Roach Ranch. He's on the forums as well! Check out his website - it's very informative; and he's very good about reading and responding to email questions. I've been dealing with him for about a month (expecting my roaches tomorrow), and he was a pleasure to work with!

clear

Sub-Adult Member