how do you prevent stunted growth for BD

Status
Not open for further replies.

peera

Sub-Adult Member
At 3 months, that's a perfectly fine length. :) You prevent stunted growth by proper care- feeding plenty (until one year, this means all the live feeders they'll eat in 15 minutes 2-3x a day and always having a salad availible.), proper UVB lighting (preferablly the ReptiSun 10.0 floresent tube), proper temps (100-110 basking spot, 75-80 cool side), a big enough tank (min 40gal breeder, pref 8 sq ft floor space), plenty of baths and lots of love. :)

spikes14

Hi, I'm new to these forums and to bearded dragons, just so you know.

I'm a bit worried about my bearded dragons size. This is my first bearded dragon so I'm new to everything, although i have done my research and made sure everything was perfect before I brought him home. My cousin had breaded about 12 dragons, and i was lucky enough to get one for free. I made a vivarium for him which is about 28-30 inches long, 18 inches wide and about 18 inches high. I have a UVB bulb 10x, and a heat bulb that is about 6 inches away from the nearest basking spot, and reaches to 90-110 F.

I got him when he was about 3 months old and had him for a month now, he looks healthy and is friendly. He has been eating fine until recently when he stopped eating like he used to, before he would eat all of the vegetables and i had to get more but now he only eats the carrot that i give him. I feed him 5 crickets a day as i was told, just after he poops, and he eats the crickets fine with no problems. Also i use Nutrobal every 2 days on the crickets.

I looked for a reason on these forums for why he might have stopped eating the lettis (not iceburg). But then i found this thread saying about their bearded dragon is 11 inches at 4 months old. Mine is 7 inches at 4 months old. He is shedding his skin fine, and pooping ok.

Is there something i am doing wrong? or am i getting worried over nothing?