Introducing me and my beardie!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hoopyscoop

Juvie Member
Hello! I'm new to this forum, but I have been lurking for quite a while, doing research so I can make sure my beardie has the time of it's life! :study:
I'm hoopyscoop, I have a baby bearded dragon named Fred. I am still learning about them, and everything I have learned so far is amazing! I know I will be taking care of bearded dragons for a long time! :D
256fyft.jpg

aaeoom.jpg

I hope these aren’t too big, but here’s my little baby. :blob5:

hoopyscoop

Juvie Member
Original Poster
Blinksmama":27de47ty said:
Welcome! What a cutie. How old is he/she?
Thank you! The petstore guy said that it was atleast 2 weeks old... I don’t really believe him. Fred(Or Freddie if girl) looks a lot younger than 2 weeks, I may be wrong though. He also said 3-5 crickets a day, and only once a day, I’m not sure if this is the correct cricket amount to feed though.

daner923

Gray-bearded Member
Not even close to enough! He does look skinny. He needs to be fed as many crickets as he will eat in 10-15 minutes, 2 or 3 times a day. This can amount to 50-100 or more crickets a day. Pet stores are so bad about this (and pretty much everything else).

He is probably about a month old at that size give or take, if I am gauging it correctly. Is he about 6 inches long or so?

Since you already got some bad pet store advice, would you mind answering these questions so we can help you get everything else set up right?

How old is your dragon?
How long have you had your dragon?
How long is your dragon?
What is the sex of your dragon?
What size enclosure do you have your dragon in?
What type substrate do you have on the bottom of your tank?
Do you use UVB lights?
If so, Is it a coil, compact, fluorescent tube, or Mercury Vapor bulb?
What is the brand name and number of your bulb? Wattage (if MVB)?
How old is your UVB bulb?
How close can your dragon get to the UVB?