Blind bearded dragon in my garden

Status
Not open for further replies.

bifurcate

Hi all
total newbie and until 10 minutes ago didn't even know these creatures were popular pets, but I do like reptiles.
I'm in West Australia. Yesterday found a dragon with both eyes apparently pecked out. It seems to be completely blind but nevertheless moves around my mainly native garden to sunny spots, climbs up pot plants, walls and shrubs, seems to have raided a spider web for lunch.
the Rt eye socket is all dried up. Yesterday, the left socket had a lump of meat hanging out and was bleeding. today it has dried up.
It is not a pet, they are common at a park near my home.
Is there anything I should/could do to help it or best leave it alone?

Thanks
Andrew

gulfbrzdawn

BD.org Addict
Hi Andrew,

Poor little bearded dragon. That's good that you've noticed he is eating. I would be worried about predators getting him. They do have what is called a Parietal organ(also known as their "third eye") on top of their head. That may help in seeing shadows above him(predators) and also aid in his finding the sun. I just don't know how long he can last in the wild being blind.

As far as what to do for him medically...I don't know. I'm sure you are not allowed to take them in as pets, but would you happen to have some kind of wild life sanctuary, where they take in injured wild animals?

Dawn

scalesandtales

Juvie Member
That is terribly sad :( poor beardie. Unfortunatly he probably won't survive on his own outside. Birds will see him. I personally would bring him inside. If it's illegal where you are...don't tell anyone I guess.
Change the title "blind beardie in my garden" to "injured beardie with no eyeballs" it will get more replies

Lennifer

Juvie Member