a few questions about brumatiom

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToothlessTheDragon

Hatchling Member
okay i have a few questions about brumation since i am kinda a newbie at the topic
so here they are

(1#) what time of year do beardies enter brumation?, and what age?

(2#) do they rest the whole time?

(3#) do they decrease in eating?

if anyone can answer any of these questions
it would be great :blob5: :blob8: :blob5:

I am new to brumation as well, but according to my research bearded dragons usually enter brumation in the winter time or just before it (around September). Brumation is more common in adult bearded dragons, but it can happen with juveniles as well. They do rest most of the time, and their appetite decreases big time, they might eat a little but not a whole lot.

ToothlessTheDragon

Hatchling Member
Original Poster
okay thank you :)

why i was asking is my beardie is entering it and he is 1 year old
and i do not know that much about brumation so thanks again :D

I haven't deal with brumation yet, so I am not 100% sure. From what I read you can bath them since they need to stay hydrated, but not to hold them if it's not necessary... you should try not to bother them in this period.

Taterbug

BD.org Addict
ToothlessTheDragon":ynrpcv4w said:
okay i have a few questions about brumation since i am kinda a newbie at the topic
so here they are

(1#) what time of year do beardies enter brumation?, and what age?
Usually around a year is my understanding, but depending on the weather some younger dragons will slow down too. Generally dragons will brumate in local winter. Some will also sleep during the summer (Aestivation)
(2#) do they rest the whole time?
Depends on the dragon, and maybe where you live. Some are down for the count, others jusdt sort of nap.
(3#) do they decrease in eating?