why wont my beardie eat??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ethelia

Extreme Poster
Im afraid I have limited knowledge in regards to humidity so I cannot help you here.

Consider this a bump for you.

Goonie

BD.org Sicko
Retired Moderator
I was able to run a search on good humidity levels and this is what I found:
Drache613":06feb said:
The humidity can run between 30-50% but 30-40% is fine.

diamc

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hi, it seems like you have gotten some great info in a couple of different threads. Have you changed the way you are taking the temperatures? You really need to lay the probe end so that it is touching (laying on) the basking spot, then wait about 45 min for the temp to stop rising before you get the final basking temp, then you place the probe end way over on the cool side with it laying right on the little ramp and at the far end closest to the glass, then wait about another 45 min before you get the cool side temp. I'm betting that your temps are too high and that is why he is avoiding the basking side and when they don't bask, they aren't active and don't get a good appetite. So, you need to find out what the temps actually are and make the necessary changes right away. Let us know what readings you get and we can help with any adjustments.

Definitely remove the red bulb and you can even replace that with a 100 watt household light bulb which will help increase his activity level and be much easier on his eyes. When are you getting the Rept-Sun 10.0 fluorescent and hood?