URGENT! Beardie not eating/hasn't eaten in over 3 months

Status
Not open for further replies.
HELP! I'm very new to bearded dragons and just got mine a couple of days ago. The person I got him from severely neglected him. He didn't have a infared heat lamp for night time for over 3 months, apparently hasn't eaten in 3 months either. He was never taken out of his tank either. He moves around but not much. He is about 10 inches long from head to talk but I'm not sure how old he is. He is a 20 gallon tank(it's what he came with) I plan on buying him a completely new tank and setup tomorrow. I bought the infared heat lamp yesterday and have been turning it on at night. I also bought some meal worms for him thinking that after he got the proper amount of heat and light for a day or so he might start eating but he hasn't and I'm really worried because he's really skinny and still won't eat any of the meal worms. I need advice please.
93519-6464367057.jpg
93519-297975825.jpg
93519-5944226729.jpg
93519-8620546977.jpg

ChristinaMike

Hatchling Member
If it was me, I would be going to ceritified reptile vet immediately to see if they can feed/hydrate and test. Once that was taken care of, then I would move on to setup. Not sure what you are referring to for infrared heat at night as I don't have anything at night on.

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Oh boy, he's highly critical, poor thing. It's nice that you're trying to help him. A certified reptile vet [ not just an exotics ] could help him but if you don't have one nearby then all you can do is start out with making slurries with healthy food like turnip, mustard, collard greens and mostly water. A bit of Pedialye mixed in as well to give him electrolytes.Give him the watery solution several times a day by syringe.