Swollen foot

Status
Not open for further replies.

macattack

I"m trying to attach a pic. Any help would be appreciated. Mac has a swollen hind foot and a little discoloration on the top of it. I think he got it caught in his cage when he was jumping around. I couldn't find any good pictures of what gout looks like so I wanted opinion about it. It isn't from shedding, and he still uses it fine. He has a big cage, good diet and lighting. any help appreciated.

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

Yes, a picture would be helpful. What did he get his foot caught in?
If you need to go over your tank setup we can do that also.

Tracie

macattack

Original Poster
obviously i'm not good at this, how do i attatch a pic? Copy and paste doesn't work.

He has a wire cage on top of his aquarium with a vine he hangs out on to bask. He likes to jump down off the vine. Maybe he got caught somehow but I don't see any obvious spots he could have gotten his leg caught in.

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

Hm, that is interesting. Well, let me take a look at a picture or two to try & determine what the problem could be. Here is a simple instructional video to help you post pictures.
viewtopic.php?f=30&t=37103

How far is the hammock up off of the floor? Maybe you can include a picture of the tank as well for me.

Tracie

macattack

Original Poster
P1000174.jpg

P1000175.jpg

Some of the substrate is stuck on his foot but you can see his foot and toes are swollen. Here's his tank set-up. He's sleeping down in the corner, you can see his head.

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

Yeah that is a little swollen. What type of lighting are you using, a mercury vapor bulb? If not, are you using a UVB source?
Is he favoring that foot at all right now?
Do you supplement calcium regularly?
I would try giving a warm bath to see that will help with the swelling. So the swelling just appeared after this incident?