Superworm breeding FAIL =[

Status
Not open for further replies.

SnapNYC

Its supposedly very simple you just get adult super worms and separate them in individual containers with no food until them become red Beatles. then put them in a container with a big hide spot thats dark because they like to breed in the dark im guessing? anyway this is my first try at this and one of the worms got extremely dark and EXTREMELY SMELLY. soooo either its turning into a beetle or its dead. let me know some tips and can someone teach me how to breed wax worms? their food is just plain oatmeal. and the moister i use the cricket gell stuff thats yellow because it says its good for all feeder insects

434fa8ce.jpg

91b47dca.jpg

here it is compared to a regular living worm im about to feed to my dragons

09d64f9d.jpg

That one is dead just throw it out. All you need to do is isolate them and keep them in the dark and they should turn into beetles in about 2 weeks. First they turn into a pupa whick looks like an alien then they turn into a beetle. Then put them in a bin with oatmeal or bran and give them carrots for moisture and either put them into a new bin every 2 weeks or look on youtube and build a superworm breeding filter. Thats what I did and it worked. Be paitent you might not see the babies for a month or two.

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
johnnyd5844":2i0noo3p said:
or look on youtube and build a superworm breeding filter.

Oooh thank you for that I never would have thought about that. It would make my breeding set up much easier.

To OP. Yes second picture is a dead one throw it out. Third picture- Looks like it is dying too. They should start curling up into a C shape but should keep on looking fairly... alive-like until they start turning into the alien form. What is the ventilation and temps of the isolated worms?

Sorry I have no experience breeding waxworms so I can't give advice but im sure your friendly neighboorhood http://www.google.com could help you.