Sick dragon

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm in a desperate spot I bought a bearded dragon on Jan 7 everything was good up until recently. She/he never ate alot from the start but all the research I did suggested this wasn't normal. She/he would only eat a couple crickets per feeding. She/he seemed healthy then as of yesterday I noticed that my dragon could barely move. Almost like it's paralyzed I check their tummy no lumps do I don't think it's impaction. They are on reptile carpet have 100w heating and basking lamp and a uvb bulb that's reptisun 5.0 as that's what came in the kit. Did I get a sick lizard from the pet store? Should I take my dragon into them? I can't afford a vet visit as I'm a college student. I need help I fear she won't last much longer. It has difficulty climbing and always falls off it's hammock very strange behaviour as this never has happened before.

SHBailey

Gray-bearded Member
For one thing, the Reptisun 5.0 does not provide enough UV and should be replaced with a Reptisun 10.0, but I'm not sure if that will fix it at this point. You can also add calcium and vitamin (especially D3) supplements to whatever you can get the beardie to eat. It may also be a good idea to remove the hammock from the enclosure and make sure you have a good stable basking platform under the heat lamp, and that you're getting good temperatures at the basking area (around 100 F or a little higher depending on the dragon's age).

If this came on as suddenly as you describe, there could be something else going on besides inadequate lighting and a possible calcium deficiency, so it would be really good if you could see a vet if you can possibly swing it. I hate to say it, but you probably won't get much help by going back to the same pet store that sold you a Reptisun 5.0 for a bearded dragon :(

NewBeardieOwner421

Original Poster