Questions on breeding beardies

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, im thinking about breeding bearded dragons, my bearded dragon is a male, (i think) his name is aro, (old account shadowlizard)
i have a few questions.

What do i need to breed them?

How big of a tank?

Do i need more lighting?

How old do they have to be to breed?

Does breeding them shorten there life?

after you breed them, do you have to seperate the male?

Were can i buy a incubator for the babies?
:?:

I can answer a few of the questions you have, but I'm fairly new at breeding myself. You can find incubators at Tractor Supply. You definately want to seperate the male and female after mating. He will literally mate her to death. So yes if the female is mated too much it can shorten her life. As far as breeding age...the male should be at the very least 1 1/2 and the female 2years old. I hope this helps.

Catalyst

BD.org Addict
WolfTinDragons":d3275 said:
What do i need to breed them?

You need a male and a female who are both from quality genetic lines and who are unrelated for several generations back. You'll also need all the necessary equipment to house those two dragon's separately, as well as to house all the babies that will result, and thousands and thousands of little bugs to feed everyone.

How big of a tank?

For each adult dragon you'll need at least a 75g tank (48" long x 18" wide). The male and female should be housed separately. You'll then need multiple tanks to house the babies (should house small groups together rather than all in one big tank) complete with heat and UVB lighting for all of the tanks.

Do i need more lighting?

Each tank should have a heat light that puts off bright clear (not red or coloured) light and enough heat to get the tank temps where they should be (100-110*F basking spot, 80*F cool side). Dragon's do best in brightly lit tanks. Each tank also needs a reliable UVB source.

How old do they have to be to breed?