Panicking about salmonella

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I'm going to pick up my dragon Dawkins in 3 days and I'm beginning to panic about cleaning his tank. I've already set it up and I'm in the process of tweaking the tempetures to be just right for him to come home to. I was all ready to care for him after having done over 6 months of research when I remembered that they carry salmonella and we have an 18 month old in the house. If he got salmonella poisoning it'd kill him. How do I clean Dawkins' salad bowl and waterfall without putting everyone at risk. If I use the kitchen sink wouldn't I be spraying salmonella everywhere? Thanks for the help everyone! :D

nursejones813

Juvie Member
I'm not a reptile expert. However, I am a nurse. I also have kids. Think of like raw chicken or pork. It could contain salmonella. Clean whatever your beardies dishes come in contact with, with a 20% bleach 80% water solution. And after you bathe him make sure you clean your sink or tub with the same solution. If your baby (human) wants to pet your baby (dragon), just make sure to wash his hands well before he puts them in his mouth! Lol! And be sure to wash your hands after handling your dragon. Our Beardie is in my 9yr olds room. I keep a bottle of hand sanitizer right next to his cage. If you practice good hand washing and keep your beardies contact areas clean, you shouldn't have any issues. :D

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
In over 10 years i've never been affected by salmonella.

Its a risk that is there, but far from anything you need to panic or even worry about. Don't touch your beardies vent or poo and then immediatly eat a big of chips and you should be fine...

-Brandon

Brandonforty2

Juvie Member