New petsmart beardie sick?!

Status
Not open for further replies.

AmberH

Hey y'all! I got a new baby beardie from petsmart on June 19th and I think he is starting to get sick. I've had two previous beardies one from petsmart and one from petco and both passed away after all my efforts to save them. I really really want this third guy to survive and I don't know if it's something I'm doing wrong or if I'm just getting sick dragons. I have two leopard geckos and a crestie so I'm not a newbie to reptiles in the slightest but obviously I'm having trouble with the beardies. When I go to purchase them I always get the biggest ones and make sure they are alert and have a belly on them. I have a 50 gallon tank (it's a national geographic sanctuary from petsmart the biggest size). I have a 75 watt zoo med heat bulb on one side that makes his basking spot 105 degrees Fahrenheit and I have a branch under there along with a repti hammock so he can have varying degrees under his heat lamp. I have one of the compact UVB bulbs (which after reading more I will change out for a long 10.0 as soon as I can). He is on repti carpet and paper towel. I've been feeding calcium dusted crickets and I got some meal worms for a few days between cricket shipments and he seems to only want those so I've been giving them to him even though I know it's not the best source of food it is all he will eat. He doesn't touch his veggies (mustard and turnip greens). He is perky and responsive and I've given him baths almost every day and when he doesn't get a bath he gets sprayed in his tank. The problem I'm having is that he is slowly starting to not eat and his poops have gotten small and are on their way to stopping completely. I just wondered if I could get any advice/ opinions from some more experienced keepers. Thanks in advance for any and all responses.

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner