new owner feeding greens question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ChiefsDaddy

Gray-bearded Member
I'm no expert, but I leave them in all day. I remove them at night. And put fresh greens in the morning.

I figure having them there all day will encourage him to eat them. Sometimes, he will pick at them throughout the day.

EDIT: I also spray them with water throughout the day to keep them fresh and moist.

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Yes, leave them there tell the next day where you should replace them with fresh greens. When dragons are so young like that they won't each much greens. So make sure you aren't wasting a lot of greens by making a big salad. You can adjust how much salad you make through trial and error.

-Brandon

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
I don't feed the stem. I never have. I don't know if there are vitamins in the stem or if its just water but I never have fed the stems.

-Brandon

thegreybush

Juvie Member
stems are safe. they just need to be chopped up into manageable pieces. Good advice above on misting the food bowl a couple of times throughout the day. It really helps them stay moist. Other things that can encourage salad eating is adding the good stuff like shredded squash or shredded carrots. I personally use spaghetti squash and carrots. The baby eats more dubias than greens but he still does pick through them enough to get the good stuff.

Well I am pretty much a newbie to bearded dragons so far but I have found out that feeding my young beardies Charlie and Argon their veggies first before any live food encourages them to eat a lot more than they usually would. Also I sometimes give little pieces of strawberry since I have found that it seems to entice them. Just thought that I would mention it. Oh and I never knew you could feed beardies carrots, I think I will try them when my beardies are having one of their "only insects" days.

Claudiusx

BD.org Sicko
Staff member