New Gutload, Ammonia Smell

Status
Not open for further replies.

HKzForDayz

Sub-Adult Member
So in my feeder bins, I have also gutloaded with Alfalfa Powder and provided hydration by way of water crystals,vegetables,fruits and even dripping systems into shallow dish. Just recently , I read an article about using soaked alfalfa pellets in order to provide both the gutload and hydration. So i tried this in two of my feeder bins, and now both of the bins I have tried this in have a strong ammonia like smell. Is this due to something in the alfalfa pellets thats causing the dubia urine to have a strong ammonia smell? or is it a buildup of moisture in the alfalfa causing this? surely it is something to be concerned about, am I correct?

I have been feeding dubia over for about 8 years now and never ran into this before, used many many diff gutloads over the years. The only thing that really makes sense to me is that it is due to moisture, I am going to leave the lids open overnight.

HKzForDayz

Sub-Adult Member
Original Poster
So I just decided to clean those bins out and try again with less of the wet alfalfa this time

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
Get rid of the water crystals, these are a polymer that the bugs have to eat to get the water that's chemically bound in them by hydrogen bonding, and IMO is a real risk when beardies eat the crickets with the water crystals in their guts.

Carrot is a much better source of water for the crickets as well a lefty greens such as buk choi . puk choi (also rich in calcium too).

kingofnobbys

BD.org Sicko
HKzForDayz":2b3gbzb6 said:
I am not using water crystals?

mmm

I have also gutloaded with Alfalfa Powder and provided hydration by way of water crystals,vegetables,fruits and even dripping systems into shallow dish.

I suspect the ammonia smell comes from the liquid fertilizer used to grow the alfalfa by the farmer, probably still on the greens when dried. Add water and it breaks down and smells of ammonia.