neglected dragon

Status
Not open for further replies.

oscar1

hi i adopted a 4-6 month old ( i think ) dragon who needs alot of help. i'm fairly new at this my dragon is 7 months old big, strong, and cocky. gus the dragon that needs help was not cared for i think he is impacted. i'm doing everything i know with lighting and baths, i am spoon feeding him. i've had him for 2 weeks . he has eating crickets 3 a day twice . several times i thought he was dead. is there anything more i can do?

mpinsky

Hatchling Member
Fortunately, I haven't had any problems with impaction with my beardie, but I can tell you what I know.

First, there's a really good article on impaction here --> http://www.beardeddragon.org/articles/impaction/

Until then, keep with your soaking and gently massaging his abdomen down to his vent might help. Dosing him with a few drops of vegetable oil may help, too.

Finally, get your beardie to a liscened reptile vet ASAP. They can probably spot the problem quicker, especially if your dragon is looking dead.

Good luck and keep us informed on his progress!

LJean

Extreme Poster
His vent is under his tail where he poops from. The olive oil is to be given orally. Just try to give him a few drops. This may help him poop. Rubbing is done from under the arm pit to that back area. Be gentle. This may also help pass things along. :)

oscar1

Original Poster
o.k. i bathed him and gave him a few drops of veg oil. how long before i can give him more oil ?

irwin