Need some opinions.

Status
Not open for further replies.

XiDiS

Juvie Member
I have been wanting a beardie for quite some time and have done a ton of research on them. My question is as a first time lizard owner would i be better to start with a 1 year old dragon (who looks very healthy and has been well taken care of) or a 4 month old juvie? I am sure once i get one i will want another (i have a few fish tank, once i got one it turned into three lol) and figure once i have some 'hands on knowledge' a juvie might be a lil easier to handle. What do you think?

doe222

Juvie Member
Just start off with a baby and grow up with them. I recomend a petsmart or petco beardie because they are the ones who really need the saving. They come very young these days. Petsmart says oh they are 2 months old. Id be surprised if they were older than 2 weeks. My petsmart beardie is amazing and i love him. Just like all animals theres just that connection between you and your beardie if gotten while young and being its first owner. Its good to learn with your beardie and with this site it is very possible to raise one from under a month. I cant tell you how many times i came on here with dumb questions but everyone answerd them anyways. Get a baby. Before you get one though have its vivarium set up and have someone on here run you through it to make sure you got everything you need. With a baby IMO its good to keep them in a small viv untill around 4-5in. Like a 10 gallon. Or in the viv your going to have him in but with a divvider. When that young they have a problem finding crickets in bigger cages, and you can have a hard time finding him. Heres a few basics.
10.0 Reptisun UVB tube or 12% arcadia uvb tube are the most recomended UVB sources. Alot of others can cause eye problems.
Basking temp of 100-110 (for babies, more near 110) Regular house bulbs will do fine you do not need special reptile ones, as long as you get require temps.
Cool side of 70-80
No coil bulbs