Need opinions on condition of this rescue I took in

Status
Not open for further replies.

lisa127

This beardie was brought to me 2 days ago. I need your opinions because though I have been keeping herps for almost 20 years I have never kept beardies at all. This little guy is very alert, very active, and very curious. But also very skinny. His owner was a 16 year old boy and lately the boy's parents have been doing the feeding and care. This dragon is 4 years old and has been owned by this boy since he was a hatchling. Here are pics. Please tell me what you think. He does have a good appetite, btw. Wants mostly live food, just takes about 3 or 4 bites of salad at the most.
beardie3_zps962ab41c.jpg

beardie2_zps646b44d9.jpg

beardie1_zpsa2a816a5.jpg

destiny1998

Extreme Poster
Photo Comp Winner
Hi. He does look a little thin, but it also looks like from the back around his legs he has a lump probably mbd. Do you know if he ever had a uvb light or calcium and vitamins?

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Does look a bit small for 4 based on the pictures. How much does he weigh? Being alert and curious is a good sign. Regular normal looking poops? At that age they should be about 80%veggies vs 20%live/protein or so. You can use this as a guide for putting salads together http://www.beautifuldragons.com/Nutrition.html
They love variety and they all tend to have different preferences so it's trial and error and depends on their mood.

lisa127

Original Poster
destiny1998":azmsqfm9 said:
Hi. He does look a little thin, but it also looks like from the back around his legs he has a lump probably mbd. Do you know if he ever had a uvb light or calcium and vitamins?