Mealworms or Superworms?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DoubleJ

Juvie Member
Hi all, I seem to be flooding the forum with questions at the moment, apologies :oops: I was wondering what the difference between mealworms and superworms are? I am unable to breed my own feeders (space and family members freaking out issues) so just want to make sure I am not sold the wrong ones. I have looked them up online and they look almost identical to me (a total newbie) they both turn into a type of darkling beetle and I honestly would not be able to tell the worms apart :/ Any pointers would be much appreciated.

Also, over here in the UK we are sold locusts, waxworms (are they the same as pheonix worms?), crickets (black and brown). I don't hear locusts being mentioned as a food source for beardies on this forum, is there a particular reason? I have never seen roaches or Dubais (not sure if thats the right spelling) sold here so far.

Thanks all :D

Livey

Extreme Poster
Hi!
Ok, the only difference is that mealies are tougher to digest and have a lot of shell...
And super`s have a lot more meat to shell ratio...
Mealworms can be fed at any age but are bad for beardies
super`s can only be fed to 16 inch + dragons.
Phoenix worms are Nutir-grub over here, which can be found on websites such as http://www.butterworms.co.uk/
Locusts are only available over here apparently not sure why, but i feed all of my 3 on locusts..
Roaches are not that big over here but you can buy them from http://www.rickslivefood.co.uk/

Hope i helped
Olivia

DoubleJ

Juvie Member
Original Poster
Thanks Olivia :) so do you know what waxworms are? I went to the petshop and he sold me these little maggoty looking things with dark heads, said they were waxworms and good for beardies. Sorry for being a pain :oops:

Jo

DoubleJ

Juvie Member
Original Poster