Mating time!

Status
Not open for further replies.

zippo

I'm not sure what to do at this moment since I purchased 4( 1 week old) bearded dragons just two years ago. Coming this April, they will be two years old. 2 males ( 1 silk, 1 dunner) and 2 females (1 hypo orange, 1 leather back). The male is showing signs of mating gesture and one of the female is accepting the gesture by bobbing her head( leatherback). It kinda of freaked me out last night when my dunner male leap to bite the side of my leatherback as she is waving her hand. Yes, my male dunner Is housed together in a 40 gallon tank with two females. As for my silk male, I gave him to a friend since he needed a lot of TC since I'm new to the hobby and silkies needs a lot of attention. One things for sure, I love them all but I may keep both female and let go the male or let go the females and keep the male? Or just let nature take its course since? For those of you out there whom has bread these awesome dragons, can you share the good or the bad things that I should be aware of? I have the utmost appreciation for this site and how it has helped me to care for these guys in the passing years. So, thank you all...

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Hi Zippo, it's always fun and interesting to observe new behaviors in beardies. :) I will start off by saying that a 40 gal. is way too small for 3 adult dragons. They will be stressed, sometimes it's obvious, sometimes not. When I had my first breeding trio I had them in a large display case that was about the size of a 120 gal. tank. The male was not an aggressive breeder, but the females both became gravid and I actually rarely saw breeding take place.

However, some males are very aggressive and you run the risk of them fighting though, esp. in such a small space. It can happen out of the blue with no prior warning. Best to have them all in their own tanks.