Making a 36x18x18 - first timer

Status
Not open for further replies.

CliffsMom

So, I'm making a new enclosure for my almost 1 year old beardie and have some questions. Keep in mind, I've never built anything before!

Supplies I've come up with:
-18" x 18" plywood x2 (left and right sides)
-18" x 36" plywood x2 (bottom and back)
-18" x 36" glass for the front

Here are my questions:
-What kind of glass or plastic should I use for the front, and where would I find it?
-How thick should the glass/plastic be?
-How thick should the plywood be?
-How should I attach this plywood? Are nails/screws going to work for that? Or is there like wood glue or something I can use?
- How should I attach the glass/plastic?
- Can I use tile on the floor? Should I add substrate of some kind - I am currently using paper towel since I can't find one I like - on top, or is the tile sufficient? If so, what kind of tile should I use?

I already have a basking light and fixture (75W Halogen flood light) and a matching light fixture that I am currently using for my UVB light that I'm going to use for a second warming light. I'm going to get a longer UVB light to stretch across more of the tank.

Have I missed anything?

Thanks!
Catherine and Cliff

SnowDog

CliffsMom":2bgz676l said:
So, I'm making a new enclosure for my almost 1 year old beardie and have some questions. Keep in mind, I've never built anything before!

Supplies I've come up with:
-18" x 18" plywood x2 (left and right sides)
-18" x 36" plywood x2 (bottom and back)
-18" x 36" glass for the front

Here are my questions:
-What kind of glass or plastic should I use for the front, and where would I find it?
-How thick should the glass/plastic be?
-How thick should the plywood be?
-How should I attach this plywood? Are nails/screws going to work for that? Or is there like wood glue or something I can use?
- How should I attach the glass/plastic?