Live Feeder Equivalents?

Status
Not open for further replies.

XtinaBeardieMom

Juvie Member
Hey guys, this may sound like a dumb question but I've never used worms as a staple feeder before so I was wondering how the heck I'm supposed to know how many horn, silk, phoenix, etc. worms my girls will eat in each feeding versus the dubias they're getting now. I have no intention of ever feeding them crickets, but I'm sure those equivalents would be helpful to others as well. My girls are adults, one is 16" & 325g and the other is 17.5" & 400g... both a bit underweight, I know - but they're rescues I just brought home a couple months ago so we're working on it. They get live feeders once every 3 days and usually eat about 20 medium dubias each. Can anyone provide a conversion such as...

20 medium crickets = _____ silkworms, horn worms, phoenix worms, etc.
20 medium dubias = _____ silkworms, horn worms, phoenix worms, etc.

You get the point... any help would be greatly appreciated, as I have no idea how many worms to order but I need to do it soon b/c my girls are getting really tired of eating the same feeders over and over again, and they're losing interest in their food.

Goodtruant

Sub-Adult Member
Purely based on what my dragon eats per feeding....He's about 4 months old, and we recently switch from small to medium crickets.

15 small crickets = 10 medium crickets = 25 phoenix worms

I almost bought some silk and horn worms this weekend, but decided to wait until Draper was bigger. He can handle smaller horns and silks, but didn't want to invest money on worms that would out grow him. I was guessing that he would eat 2 medium crickets per 1 silk or horn worm. Not sure if this is true though.

XtinaBeardieMom

Juvie Member
Original Poster
Thanks, that's great information for those who feed their beardies crickets! Does anyone have some equivalent ideas for dubias VS horn worms, silk worms, etc?

aussiefreak101

Hatchling Member