How to make T8 work in my T12 fixture?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thacarter

I just purchased a new reptisun 10.0, 36" T8. My homemade cage is one like the crossfire enclosure that many people have. I had been using T12 bulbs and the new one is a T8 and will not work. I am not an electrician so I have no idea how to make it work. Any simple fixes? Thanks!

Jess

Extreme Poster
You need a smaller fixture. From my experience, the T8s just flicker in a T12 fixture. You can get a new 24" T8 fixture at Walmart for $9 though!

thacarter

Original Poster
Jess":ghjjg3dz said:
You need a smaller fixture. From my experience, the T8s just flicker in a T12 fixture. You can get a new 24" T8 fixture at Walmart for $9 though!

My new bulb is also 36" so that will not work, I thought I read somewhere that you can change the ballast instead of the whole fixture, but like I said, I am not an electrician or even close to one! Thanks though!

thacarter

Original Poster
I think that I need an electric ballast after doing some research. The ballast I have now is part # "EN 140 TP" if that means anything to anyone. I think that it is a magnetic ballast from typing it into google, but not positive.

MrWhite

Sub-Adult Member
to get a new ballast would cost more than buying a whole new fixture(if you can even find a replacement ballast). also, I'm not sure the t8 bulb will fit correctly in the t12 end sockets of you old fixture. The t12 bulb is a physically larger and probably has a wider pin pattern on the end of the bulb. My suggestion is to buy a new fixture and save yourself some hastle :wink:

FoothillBeardie

Hatchling Member
The t8 bulb will fit in the t12 ends. Just need a new ballast to make the t8 work correctly. You can find ballasts cheap at home depot. This is the easiest in my opinion. If your a little lost on the wiring just ask a lighting person at home depot they should get you going in the correct direction.

sdkid123

Hatchling Member