Grout solution/question

Status
Not open for further replies.

whispersinmyhead

Hatchling Member
Well I made a trip today to the local hardware store to look at tiles. I am almost done the new viv and now it is time for tiles. I already decided I want to grout these in permanently because I am tired of removing and cleaning underneath the tiles I have now. I spoke to a very helpful sales associate who suggested that I use PL premium to adhere the tiles instead of wasting more money on thin-set. The reason is because the PL product will flex a little and resist "popping" up my tiles. Made sense and saved money. Now unfortunately they don't cut tiles :(

Now for the grout he showed me a premixed grout with sealer already in it! This sounds fantastic and costs about the same or a little less than buying everything separately and I don't have to mix everything myself (I am not experienced with flooring at all). I couldn't really find any "non-toxic" sealer just "low VOC". Does anyone have any experience with grouting tiles and what will be safe? I really hope the premixed stuff works out in my favor but I don't want to harm our beardie. Also I am going to use rough ceramic tiles once I find the ones I like. They won't need sealing.

MelissaC

I really need/hope someone answers this question!! I have the same exact one!! Sorry I couldn't help, but I hope moving this thread up catches someones eye!

Melissa C=

whispersinmyhead

Hatchling Member
Original Poster
Well I think I found the best option finally! With the help of a great neighbor and associates at my local hardware store.

First I bought a tube of PL premium to adhere the tiles to the cage. I bought textured ceramic tiles that don't need to be sealed for easy cleaning and sanitation.