Going on vacation...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi All,

I'm new to the reptile world. My sons allergic to animals with fur so we bought a baby beardie in January. We think she a girl so we named her Amethyst. ( probably end up being a boy :shock: .
Anyway, we are going on vacation for a week and I have no idea what to do with her. She has to be fed 2x a day and cleaned up after if ya know what I mean. Any ideas? None of my friends would touch crickets let alone beardie poop. My son is homeschooled and his friends don't live near by. Is there such a thing as a beardie boarding place? We live in Northern Mass on the New Hampshire line if anyone knows of a place like this. Oh, one more question. Won't Amethyst be really upset if I take her out of her viv and put her somewhere else for a week.

Thanks in advance for your ideas.

Layla

SDragons

Juvie Member
I've looked into this for the BD we are getting, and found several options. You might have the similar options where you are located:

Reptile vets provide boarding
Some regular vets (non-reptile vet) may board but you need to provide home & food
Some reptile stores provide boarding
I found 1 regular pet store (non-chain store) that would board

I'm interested in what you finally find. I hope you have a wonderful holiday.

DaisyDragon123

Sub-Adult Member
I plan on taking mine with me when I go out of town. I've read about others sneaking theirs into hotels and I plan on doing the same. Basically I'm going to do a scaled down replica of the cage with smaller basking lights and smaller reptisun 10.0 tube. Instead of a raised platform I will use tile for basking and paper towels for substrate. I will use a 20 gallon long acquariam or sterilite tub.

Layla72372

Original Poster
Thanks for the ideas. I called the store I bought her at. They will board for $20 a day. I think it's worth every penny if I don't have to worry about her :)