Fostering baby need advise.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all,

Its been quite a while since I've been on here but I now have a situation I could use some advise on. So, I have a friend who manages a local pet store. Last week they got a shipment of two baby Beardies. One of them didn't last the first night and the other was very lethargic and sickly looking. The supplier says they don't guarantee if the temps drop below 60 at night and didn't bother to put in a heat pack either. I am also working to help educate in hopes they can avoid this in the future too. This is a pet store with owners and a manager that actually care about doing the right thing.

Anyway, it is what it is and we are just trying to help the one that survived. She asked if I would take him and try and see if I can save him since I am the local "expert"(I use the term loosely). I have had a lot of experience with beardies and so I said I would give it a try but I didn't promise as there are sometimes that you can do everything and it still not go right.

So here is the deal and what I have done so far....

I took him on Thursday, the 26th.

She said he is going on 7 weeks and I weighed him at 3g. SO TINY!

Got him in a tank with a 10.0 18" tube and a 100w basking lamp. Temps are at 105 in the basking spot and about 75-80 on the cool side. I put him in a tub to eat so I can monitor what he is eating but...he only ate 2 pinheads on Friday and then I got him to eat 2 small wax worms on Saturday and nothing else on his own. I've seen him try and go for something but he gives up when he doesn't get it. I have put a heat lamp and his UVB on the tub and leave him for a bit to see if he will go for it but after an hour I'll put him back. Ive also been getting him to lick a little bit of soy yogurt and butternut squash babyfood(not mixed of course). I try at least 4-5 times a day and can get him to lick a little but not much. I have also been giving him soaks daily.