Digging?

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I am a college student and I come home on the weekends and bring my beardie with me, Its only an hour drive home so if I come home at night I put a light on him. I used to put him in a 10 gallon tank on the weekends but that is too small so I put him in a big plastic storage bin so it is as close to his 40 gallon at school. Since we got home he is acting weird, I went out side and came in and he is under the paper towels and right now the reason I am writing is because he is sitting in the corner digging, I have never seen him do this before. Are his nails too long? is he trying to get exercise I just took him out and he sat on my chest and didnt move.

PuffMagic

Juvie Member
I have heard dragons dig because they are too hot, so their natural instinct is to get under the dirt. My girl digs in her tunnel, so it would seem they cover up and dig to escape. Hope this helps a little.

taransteve

Sub-Adult Member
Sounds to me like your little boy might be a female who may be trying to lay eggs.. :dontknow: have you noticed an increase in his/her appetite and weight gain? Is his/her belly looking "rounder" that usual? You can usually feel if they are "gravid" by gently running your fingers under his/her belly, if they are eggs they will feel like little grapes. Do you know about how old your dragon is?

If you do suspect he may be a female and this is what is happening you will need to get her reeady to lay her eggs A.S.A.P.! Here's a great link for that.. http://www.exclusivedragons.com/Egg-laying.html
This is just my opinion and what I suspect may be going on with your beardie, I can't be 100% positive.

bigcahoonas10

Original Poster
well not sure if its a boy or girl he has the bulges behind his head like a male the doc didnt correct me when i called him a he and i bought him from petsmart in august

PuffMagic

Juvie Member