Crickets in refrigerator?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ted

Hi all,

I'm completely new to BDs (that's going to be my first sentence here for a LONG while I think! LOL).

I'm wondering if there is any danger or problem with refrigerating the crickets (even 20 minutes prior to feeding)? It seems like they'd be easier to feed.

I placed them in the fridge earlier and when I went to get them, they were all dormant. I thought they may have been dead, but slowly they "warmed up" and are now bouncing around like normal.

If that is harmful/problematic, do you have any other suggestions? I have them in a Gladware tub (large) with holes punched in the lid. The problem is trying to get one or two crickets out without ALL of them bouncing out. NOT fun.

Sorry if this has been mentioned many times. I'm just hoping to find a system that works for Sam and me. :)

Thanks so much!
Ted

randommonks

Sub-Adult Member
I wouldn't put them in there long term, cuz that will for sure kill them. You could try a few minutes before feeding to make them slower. I know that Darwin won't eat anything that's not moving, except for the occasional bite of veggies. You could try putting a few in the fridge a few minutes before you feed them, and seeing if your bearded dragon will eat them. Crickets are a pain, and I've moved on to dubia roaches, which are icky cuz they're roaches, but don't jump and are self sustaining in population after a while. You're better off just keeping crickets at room temperature, catching them as they come along. I know you can get a cricket keeper that has a tube that they crawl in, so you could put toilet paper tubes in the enclosure, and then shake them out into the bag that you dust with or directly into the viv.

Ted

Original Poster
randommonks":swvwemnn said: