changing to MVB - does it make them more active and eat more

Status
Not open for further replies.

luvthydragon

Juvie Member
Original Poster
Zarandme":96dcd said:
Ok well I am going to jump into this topic becausse I have a few questions as well. From what I understand, the previous owner of Darzil just had him in a window rather than giving him a uvb light. So slowly but surely we are making a lot of changes, but only a few at a time so we don't freak him out too much.

Would it be best to have 2 different lights one for the uvb and one for the basking? or would one floresent tube and a basking light be better. I am a new owner so I have a lot of questions ( :oops: ) but I normally find the answer here... :D

Thanks every one who posts for all of your help!!!
Kara

Hi there-

I am no expert - just got my first BD a few months back. Lighting is a very complicated thing to describe....and I've read several opinions on it. The best information that I found came from ReptileUV.com and there are some great videos with graphs and such. Great web-site and I ordered from him because he really seems to know alot.....the bulb is on back-order so I got the T-rex just for now and when the Megaray comes in I will swap it and use the T-rex for a Back-up bulb. I'm not sure about the dome fixture but I chose to use one......I think it has to do with the type of top you have on your encloser too. Sorry I can't help you further but I don't want to give you bad info.

Gary251":96dcd said:
See for the MVB do u NEED to have a dome fixture? and if you dont is it better to have one? and if i got an MVB im assuming I wouldnt need my reptisun 10.0 anymore correct?

Again I'm not the best source of info - Not sure that you NEED to have the dome....maybe a more experienced member can give you the pro's and con's on that. I'd be curious to find out too.

kski

Hatchling Member