Baby Beardie breathing heavy when eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linziehonn

Hatchling Member
Hello all! I'm new to registering on this site but it's been extremely helpfull since the first day I brought home my little love, Mem. Since everyone seems so knowledgable I wanted to ask about a possible health issue my Mem has started showing. I have had him since he was 3 weeks old and just over 4 inches long. He is almost 3 months old, and 9 inches long. 40 gallon breeder, Reptisun 10 tube (hung inside the viv), 75w heat lamp, I add a 60w when I have my AC turned down low. Cool side 87, basking side: highest basking spot 114, medium spot 104, lower spot 99. He spends the majority of his time back and forth between the 114 and 104 spots. 1/4" crickets are his staple, mustard greens and romain daily. Crickets calcium dusted 5 days a week, vitamin dusted 2 days a week, one time a day. Wax worms as once a week treat. He poo's 2-3 times per day, watery but not runny. About 5 days ago he started breathing VERY heavily after eating about 5 crickets. He puffs out his beard and belly taking huge gulps of air then blows them out in a puff, almost like a burp. He'll do this 3 or 4 times, eat about 4 more crickets and start the "burping" again. Sometimes he will eat a few more after that but most of the time this second round of "burping" seems so tough on him that he won't eat anymore. This happens when he eats his greens as well. There is no mucus in his nose or slimy saliva in his mouth. At first I thought it was b/c he was shedding inside his nose but the shed has stopped and the hard breathing continues. He gets dark and has stress lines when this happens. Any ideas what this may could be?

P.S. Here's a pic of my lil love
http://i55.tinypic.com/24pm2oz.jpg

BeardedDragon6

Juvie Member
Mine did that too. i guess its cause of the sand. idk. or I gave him huge crickets. but he stopped it already.

on what substrate do you keep your dragon?

Linziehonn