Anyone else allergic to Blaptica Dubia?

Status
Not open for further replies.

armueller2001

Hatchling Member
Well, I've developed an allergy to blaptica dubia poop. Had one crawl across my hand the other day and had red itchy bumps pop up almost immediately, and I got all wheezy and was sneezing like crazy. It sucks, I've been selling these roaches for 3 years and this is just starting to happen now. I think it's triggering asthma-like symptoms in my breathing as well.

I'm thinking maybe if I keep them from crawling around in their poop it might be a lot better, and the cage would be easier to clean. I currently keep them in a 20L aquarium with a heat pad on the bottom... was thinking maybe if I worked up some type of screen on the bottom that the poop could fall through and they would stay out of it. It would be really cool to have a drawer that slides out (like an ash collector on an old wood stove) that I could dump the poop frequently without removing all the roaches from the cage.

Any suggestions? :cry:

LQDragons

Juvie Member
I've heard that some people use buckets, with small holes drilled in the bottom. If you got creative you could use a series of stacked buckets, starting out with larger holes down to small holes to seperate different roach sizes and have the frass drop to the bottom.

protiemama

Gray-bearded Member