75gallon tank proper heating1

Status
Not open for further replies.

conblack

ok.. so im about to get a 75 gallon tank which is 4'2'2 (at least thats what the guys said) for my bearded dragon.
i was watching this videos at http://www.youtube.com about taking proper care of your dragons since im a beginner on this ):wink:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNB06-LCMPQ

ok so this tank looks king of big so... this guys says that on one side u should use bulb of 100W to 150W day bulb to generate about 100 to 110 degrees right?
but he also says that on the "cool side"i should use a night bulb for 24 hours a day which should be from 75W to 100W( i have a 75W red bulb btw), and a heat pad which is also running 24 hours a day ........ BUT how is it possible to have a cool size if you have using almost the same W on the basking compared to the coll side?(dont forget! the heat pad is on the cool side also)

im asking this question because im about to get my tank and im gonna make a trade giving my tank and some money for the bigger one, and i dont wanna play with my dragons health experimenting for about a week with the temperature, so i would like to know the right places and W for my lights :D and heating devises

tnx guys!

peera

Sub-Adult Member
After watching a couple of those videos, I'm going to say STOP LISTENING TO THAT *****.

Bark substrate??? *shudder*

I do not use any bulbs at all at night, but my tank stays at 70+ all night, so it's unnessisary. What you need to do is get your tank, and then find out what the constant temps are inside it, before making night warming decisions.

DO NOT USE A HEATING PAD. Beardies don't absorb (or even feel) heat through their bellies, so it can burn them.

NegativeCreep

Sub-Adult Member
You're right, you can't keep the heat gradient with the exact heat on both sides.

A 75 gallon breeder is perfect for an adult beardie, btw. But, that video is full of crap!! :)