4 new baby bearded dragons and I'm a noob!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

zippo

Hi all, I recently went to a reptile auction hoping to get some Juvi turtles but def fell in love with the lade back, calm personalities of these wonderful bearded dragons. I bought the babies from Dragon Fortress and they look amazing and loving there new environment. However, I was told not to put water in the tank in hoping that they will get their moisture from veggies. However, I just got home and found my female laying around the veggie bowl as if she was knocked out?? Frantic and concerned, I got a bottle of spraying water and I sprayed her and she started licking the water. Then sprung up and started chasing for her last meals. Could someone help? Also, they aren't really eating the greens like red leaf lettuce, kal? Any info would be great and yes, I give em 10 min baths, warm waters, dailies!!

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
I'm glad to hear you're enjoying your new dragons so far. The concern about putting water in the tank is that it will increase the humidity of the tank. If your tank is large enough and the bowl is relatively small and placed on the cool side it shouldn't be a problem. That said, they often won't drink standing water so they're more likely to drink water that is dripped around them or sometimes directly from their bath (so keep providing these). If you spray, be sure not to allow any of the water to remain on the sides of the tank (better yet do it outside of the tank) and just gently spray around the nose and get them to lick it off. It's true that most of their water will come from food such as veges and gutloaded/well hydrated bugs. Young dragons will often favor bugs over veges to get more protein to support fast growth.