worried, not eating

Status
Not open for further replies.

sunfaye

I've had my dragon for several months and she always ate really well. I feed her crickets, kale and meal worms. But for the past month she's not eating anything and I'm getting really worried she's starving to death. What should I do? She looks depressed. She's in a window all day with lots of natural sunshine and a shaded area under some foliage. I always thought she seemed happy, but now I'm worried about her. Any suggestions? I'm new at this. Thank you.

diamc

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
I just gave you your own thread so that it can get the attention that it needs/deserves.

herpfreak

Gray-bearded Member
A few questions:
-Does she get 12 hours of UV radiation (through glass doesn't count)?
-Is she impacted? Do you feel little lumps in her stomach? Did she defecate after her last meal?
-What are the temps on both sides?
-What brand multivitamins do you use, and how often? And calcium?

She could be sick. Or, she could be unable to digest properly if the basking temps aren't high enough.

It can never hurt to call a vet if you're really worried.

sunfaye

Original Poster
These are great questions herpfreak. Recently I got her from a rescue situation and I know very little about how to care for her that's why I'm on this site. She was eating great when I got her four months ago.
- She gets 12 hours to sunlight a day through a window. I live in S. California so it's usually always sunny. But I didn't realize "through a window" didn't count. Why is that? On cloudy days I use a 50 watt basking spot lamp. Perhaps she needs the lamp every day.
-I checked her for impacting and I didn't feel any lumps in her bully. She doesn't defecate much. Only once a month maybe, but she's not eating, so maybe that's why.
- I don't have a thermator so I don't know the temps. I'll buy one tomorrow and get back to you.