Underweight baby. Where did my good eater go?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mirthy

Sub-Adult Member
Hello, I'm yet another first time bearded dragon owner. I have had some prior experience caring for an adult beardie and fell in love with the animal. I've waited a little over a decade to be in a position to have one for myself. Now I finally have a little guy (or gal) and am happily doting and cutting veggies for him to experiment with as well as dusting little crickets, etc. So nice to be doing it for my own dragon now. (cheer) Here is some basic information before I continue.

I've had my BD for three weeks. I do not know the age but it couldn't be much older than seven or eight weeks old at this point.

My dragon is almost six inches long (and likes the yellow color of the measuring tape ((and long walks on branches, hot tubs..but I digress)) but he is only 6 grams. It seems like he should be about twice that?
DSCF0258-1.jpg

I can't tell his/her sex yet but I'm going to call him a him to make it easier for now. He is in a 29gallon enclosure. (I have a larger one for later but will be using this until Baby grows up a bit more) The substrate is eco-carpet. I have a fluorescent UVB light by reptisun (10.0) and the basking spot allows the baby to climb up to 5" of the light with a lot of gradients levels which helps with the actual basking light (separate) which is a bulb. The basking side temp's hot spot is 110 with a lot of options for slightly cooler. I've measured between 98-110 on the 'roost'. The coolest point in the viv is inside a hide on the cool side of the tank which will drop to 77. I had fun measuring all of those (and bath water, too) with a temp gun.

okay so, all that aside. I've had a very adventurous eater until this week. In very small hand fed amounts my baby BD has tried:
Mustard Greens (not as fond of)
Collard Greens (often)
Bok Choy
Carrot greens
Kale
Mango (absolute favorite)
carrot, minced
apricot
yellow squash