Troubleshooting Dubia Colony

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey everyone, seeking advice from successful dubia breeders here. I decided to start a colony, and I’m already having some trouble with die-off after only 2 weeks. As this is my first time doing this, and I was a little reluctant to do so in the first place, I expected that I’d encounter some problems. However, my reluctance is gone and now I just want to get it right. Here’s the current setup:

-56qt Sterilite bin (23”Lx16”Wx12”H) the bin is clear but I wrapped the outside in opaque sticky contact paper to block light
-The bin sits on top of a heat pad
-Plastic lid on top of bin with a 4”x4” hole cut in the middle of it, with screen mesh hot glued over the opening
-Egg cardboard scraps taking up about 3/4 of the space inside, which were accumulated from what I’ve been receiving in my weekly dubia shipments
-Dish for water crystals in the empty space
-Food dish next to water dish. I’ve been feeding mostly fresh produce so far.
-5 adult males, 10 adult females, and then 100 other roaches of assorted sizes

Today I noticed 2 of my adult males and 1 adult female have already died off, along with some of the smaller ones.

Here are the potential problems with my setup I’m now realizing:
-The heat pad is the same length of the bin. I’m guessing they are probably too hot and are unable to escape the heat as the entire floor of the bin is heated. To confirm this suspicion, I just took the temp by putting the probe between the heat mat and the bottom of the bin, and it read 101. Too hot.
-Dry chow would probably be better than feeding fresh food, as it reduces the chance of bacteria/mold growth
-The bin might need more ventilation
-Need a higher ratio of adult females to males