Trouble with Digestion?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Keeann

Hey everyone!

I'm new to the beardie world, so I've been trying to educate myself as much as possible for my new beardie Averath (Avery for short :p). Lately I've been noticing that he has been having trouble digesting fruits and veggies; earlier when I was giving him a warm bath he pooped in the tub, and it pretty much looked like untouched veggies, apple pieces, and small carrot pieces (his meal from yesterday). He has no trouble digesting crickets, and his only trouble with mealworms is the occasional exoskeleton. I haven't given him waxworms because of the high fat content, and I want him to put on healthy weight; he was thin when I got him.

A little backstory: we found him in my mom's garden munching on some sweet potato vines. Since they aren't native, we had some red flags come up about what he was doing in the wild just before winter--we live in Texas and it was still in the high 60s - low 70s at this point in November. My mom was unable to catch him that first day since she's terrified of anything without fur, but the next day when I came home from uni I saw him basking on a rock and grabbed him with a towel. Fast forward: I get him a tank and some lights, and decide I'm keeping him myself. It only took him a couple days to stop hissing, he's never bitten, and now he's very docile and loves to be loved on!

We aren't sure how long Avery was in the wild; we believe a neighbour who moved out maybe a month before we found him was the one to release him before they left :( Another neighbour said they had been feeding him apples, thinking he was just the average Texas reptile hanging out in the yard, lol.