Tail rot or shedding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

vegullaaimee

Original Poster
Beardie name(s)
Chico
Hello I am a new bearded dragon mom and I'm still learning. I have had this dragon since October 2020 he was starved and almost dead. The vet said he was less than half the body weight he should be. Although I am concerned he may have tail rot he does have an appointment but not for two weeks. What do you guys think? It is brittle like it will break at the very end I will post a better picture tomorrow if need be. TIA

Attachments

• IMG_20220209_201830128.jpg
    IMG_20220209_201830128.jpg
    236.6 KB · Views: 602

Drache613

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Hello,

Overall, he looks really good, nice colors! His tail looks normal to me, pre-shed. Most of the time, the tail appears a bit
darker before the shedding begins. It doesn't really look like tail rot or any type of infection to me.
How brittle or dry is the end of the tail?

Tracie

vegullaaimee

Original Poster
Beardie name(s)
Chico
Hello,

Overall, he looks really good, nice colors! His tail looks normal to me, pre-shed. Most of the time, the tail appears a bit
darker before the shedding begins. It doesn't really look like tail rot or any type of infection to me.

Tracie
Its so brittle it feels dead and if I were to bend the tip it seems like it would break off

vegullaaimee

Original Poster
Beardie name(s)
Chico
Hello I am a new bearded dragon mom and I'm still learning. I have had this dragon since October 2020 he was starved and almost dead. The vet said he was less than half the body weight he should be. Although I am concerned he may have tail rot he does have an appointment but not for two weeks. What do you guys think? It is brittle like it will break at the very end I will post a better picture tomorrow if need be. TIA
Its so brittle it feels dead and if I were to bend the tip it seems like it would break off
Hello,

Tracie

Attachments

• IMG_20220210_103507929~4.jpg