still refusing to eat

Status
Not open for further replies.

jjb99

Hello! I posted a topic two months back about my female 1 1/2 year old beardie. I was advised to take her to the vet and , sure enough, she had pinworms. She has now been treated through a couple weeks of oral medication.

When she had the parasite and was refusing to eat, I was force feeding, either with veggies/fruits that I cut flat and could slide into her mouth effortlessly, or with a syringe after making her food into a baby food-like consistency, depending on how fussy she was being that day. Her weight went back up to normal, and her vitamin intake became much better during her recovery. I've been feeding her this way 1-2 times a day for the past two months.

However, she is STILL refusing to eat on her own. I'm assuming I got her so used to the hand feeding, she's just not doing it the regular way anymore. The vet suggested that I don't feed her for a little while, and if she got hungry enough, she'd eat on her own. But if I let her go for more than 24-36 hours, she acts all droopy and I feel the need to feed her again. I just feel so bad and get worried.

How long can I (healthily) go without feeding her? I'm starting to get scared that she will never eat on her own again. Melodramatic, maybe, but that's what it's starting to feel like!

BlueMorpho

Juvie Member
Sorry to hear she wasn't feeling well! Hopefully all those nasty worms are gone!
Mixing bee pollen or probiotics into the baby food mixture might stimulate some appetite. Sprinkling bee pollen on the greens might work, too. They would both help her bounce back from the meds, too.
Perhaps giving worms as a treat but not hand-feeding them?
Personally I wouldn't want to deny her food for more than two days, but the vet is right; if she's hungry enough, she'll eat. Leave greens in the tank all day, and try offering live food a few times throughout the day.