So... Does SIZE really matter???

Status
Not open for further replies.

HappiDragon

Hatchling Member
Gotta question for you avid breeders out there, I have a VERY large( lenth and width) female that I am trying to breed to one of my boys. Its almost like they seem intimidated by her... She has been aggressive with both boys in the past, (head bobbing, circling and such, even some tail biting :shock: ) I've introduced her to sunny here again this last week hoping to get some successful breeding and she simply ignores him.....no arm waving, slow bobbing.....nothing...
Could it be her size? Maybe? I'm starting to wonder here.. :-? The boys are just out of brumation and being very...ummm...excited. Problem is they are more interested in the tank across the room with a juvinile female in it, lil,g. She sees him head bobbing and such and starts waving and slow bobbing in response. I've even moved the tanks so they could not see her to no avail. :(

Its not like I'm completely new to this, we've bred and raised several successful clutches but this has got me stumped, I would love to see her paired up with our citrus male sunny but am getting nowhere here.. Any advice?

pic of Pizza below,

August52011036.jpg

AHBD

BD.org Sicko
Some females just aren't receptive, and if she has a "bad temper" , it may not be the right time for her. On a side note......that looks like an " extra large pizza !!" [ referring to her name lol ] You may want to cut down on her feeders. Unless she is carrying infertile eggs, she looks quite a bit overweight. Being overweight is no better for animals than it is for humans, so even though we equate a huge appetite in our beardies with great health, once they reach adulthood, some need to have their feeders cut back, given some exercise and lots more veggies. Beardies can develop fatty liver disease, we don't want that. Also, breeding can be more difficult with excess fat on the body. She does look intimidating !

HappiDragon

Hatchling Member