So confused about my Paarthurnax's diet..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ronni1123

Paarthurnax is about 5 months old, I think.. (If you know anything about age, try to age him if you can. I'll post a photo)
Okay, so I feed him 10 crickets a day, and only dust them 4/7 days a week.
I just ordered some Butterworms, and can't seem to find small silkworms for a good price.
Should I feed him Phoenix worms if I'm giving him crickets dusted with calcium, or would that be too much calcium? Is there such thing as too much calcium for him?
I got a calcium supplement with D3 in it, and don't have a vitamin supplement yet... should I get him some?

Please tell me everything you know about diet.

020.jpg

I'm no expert with calcium, but I know a couple of things I've read from other users:

1. Beardies can have too much calcium, and it can cause dehydration and high blood calcium. Calcium is not water soluble and excess
cannot be passed the way that vitamin C can. It will build up in their system.
2. Most people recommend to use calcium without D3 because you're already supposed to have a UVB which is supposed to give them
calcium.
3. Dust food 1X per day, 5X a week when they're babies. for the other two days you can use multivitamins. Mon-Fri=Calcium,
Sat+Sun=vitamins
4. You don't have to dust pheonix worms because already have a high calcium level.

Your dragon looks a little small. I highly doubt he's 5 months old, at most I'd say 2 months depending on how big he is, and that's if he's been taken care of appropriately.

Hope that helps

snazzyglasses

Sub-Adult Member