Sleeping under the water bowl...

Status
Not open for further replies.
My bearded dragon Felix likes to dig under his water bowl and sleep there. He doesn't usually go into his hides... is there something wrong or is this just normal? I'm new with beardies so anything would be greatly appreciated.

IMG00074.jpg

diamc

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
I would take him out from there right away or he could smother. How old is he and how long have you had him? It's possible that there's something in the tank that he's trying to get away from like temps too high, a UVB, etc or even another beardie. Could you answer these questions for us, it would help a lot.

How old is your dragon?
How long have you had your dragon?
How long is your dragon?
What is the sex of your dragon?
What size enclosure do you have your dragon in?
What type substrate do you have on the bottom of your tank?
Do you use UVB lights?
If so, Is it a coil, compact, fluorescent tube, or Mercury Vapor bulb?
What is the brand name and number of your bulb? Wattage (if MVB)?
How old is your UVB bulb?
How close can your dragon get to the UVB?
Do you use a separate basking bulb? What kind and what is the wattage?
What are the basking temps?
What is the cool side temp?
Do you take the temps with a stick on thermometer, a digital thermometer with a wire and a probe end or a temp gun?
Where exactly are you taking your basking temps?
Do you use a heat rock or heat pad?
What do you feed your dragon? Please be specific.
How often do you feed and what time do you feed (morning, afternoon, night)?
Do you gutload (feed) your crickets, worms, etc?
Do you use vitamin or calcium supplements? What brand(s)? How many days a week do you use each of them?
Is your dragon having regular bowel movements (poops)?
Do you bath your dragon? How often?
Do you mist your dragon or offer water other than in the bath?
Does your dragon share an enclosure with another dragon?
Have you gotten a vet check and fecal done?

iLoveMyFelix