Rescue Bearded Dragon?

Status
Not open for further replies.

leneabean

Hi everyone. I'm extremely new to this. My boyfriend loves reptiles and when a distant family member wanted to get rid of their bearded dragon because they did not want it anymore, he was more than happy to let him into our home. His previous owners did feed him but they didn't handle him or bathe him. Well, when he was brought here I was pretty much indifferent. All I knew is he would scratch the living hell out of my boyfriend every time he tried to take him out of his tank. Luckily, he's not a biter. He's 4 years old but basically he's very new to us.

Anyways, I held him for the first time just 4/5 days ago and when my boyfriend put him on my lap, he calmed down after a while and eventually fell asleep there. I thought it was so sweet and thought about his neglect and started crying in front of all of our friends haha. Anyways, since then I have become incredibly attached to him. I get him out of his tank every afternoon to feed him squash and collard greens. I'm not comfortable hand feeding him yet as he's still aggressive there but I put him on my lap and place the food on my leg and he eats it off me.

Also, every night a few hours before I know he likes to sleep, I let him lay on my chest and he usually crawls up to my neck and falls asleep then I put a soft blanket over the two of us. The past two nights, when I move him from my chest to his viv he doesn't even wake up. I don't know if this is common or because he's used to me, but I love him so much so quickly. He doesn't freak out when I pick him up out of his tank. He's calm and I just put him on my chest. He clings to me sometimes when I put him back into his tank after he eats but he has to go in to digest and do this thing. I keep a shirt of mine in his tank on the cool side and he usually sleeps on it.