Reptisun 10.0 T8 bulb vs T5 bulb and fixtures

Status
Not open for further replies.

themamaj

Hi I am the mamaj. I am adopting a 4 year old dragon and will be bringing him home in about 2 weeks. The lady I am adopting from has a 40 gallon breeder with mesh lid I will be getting. I wanted to have my other supplies ready for when he comes home but every article, video and post I have read the lighting recommendations are a bit overwhelming. Can you tell me if it would be better to buy a Reptisun 10.0 T8 and a under the cabinet florescent fixture from Walmart and mount inside tank or a T5 bulb and fixture that would sit on top of tank. Which fixture would have the greatest health benefits for my dragon? Thanks for your help! This is my first time owning a dragon and I want to start out right. I can't wait to bring him home.

themamaj

Original Poster
Thank you! That is definitely a fixture I had not seen and from looking at it on amazon I really like it. How do I mount it in the tank? Is it better to center the light or to put it more to one side? How do you know the appropriate distance to have between the light and your basking spot? Is the UVI something I need to measure and if so how. I really appreciate your feedback!

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
Do you have a tank with an open or mesh top or is it a wood top? Based on test results the optimal distance is about 12'' or about 10'' through a mesh screen. This creates a UVI between about 3-5 over the basking area. The UVI can be measured using a Solarmeter 6.5 but can be estimated based on previous test results. The light should be next to the basking light so they combine to simulate natural sunlight and project the highest heat and highest UVB concentration over the basking area while creating a gradient down to low/no UVB in another part of the tank to provide some options.

themamaj

Original Poster