Planning On Getting A Dragon Question On Food

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey, I'm thinking about getting a bearded dragon and I have done some research plan on doing more before I get one. I have one big reservation I just couldn't feed a live mouse to my dragon if I got one do I have to feed them mice? Or can I just feed him/her crickets and other insects and veggys? Will it still grow to be nice and health?

andy65

Hi and welcome!

I am new to the whole dragon thing myself, but I do know that mice are not very good for dragons. It can cause them to be impacted, they can't go poop. I think the ONLY time that people feed mice to are females that are going to be breed or if they are full of eggs.

If you get a young dragon them he/she will eat 80% protein, IE insects, and 20% veggies. if he older than I think a year it the reverse, 80% veggies and 20% protein

I know someone with more experiences will come around and say something too.

I hope this help. We LOVE our BD. He is so fun. They are great lizards!

Geoff22

Hatchling Member
Well worry not, you Never have to feed your dragon a mouse at all *unless of course you choose to*

Alot of people are the same way you are about this topic, its hard to have respect for all living things, but treat something alive like its food (dont worry I getcha) :wink:

But the problem with mice/pinkies is they are super fattening, like feeding your BD Mcdonalds supersized valuemeal everytime you give him a mouse/pinkie.
Impaction isnt really a concern with mice unless of course you give him one to big for him/her to eat.

I feed my BD a "frozen pinkie mouse" bought from petco for like $2 usually like once every TWO weeks just to give him some variety/treat. (THIS is my choice, not required)

***************So moral of all this, you DON'T have to feed your BD a mouse if you don't want to, just make sure they get there protein somewhere else, IE. Crickets/worms/roaches

EvanTheAtheist

Original Poster