Newbie Here

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kryton

As stated up in Introduction, I am new to this and have a few questions. First we are looking to start out with a baby or juvy Bearded Dragon. I have 3 tanks to choose from,30gal,55gal and a 150 gal. Eventually he or she will end up in the 150 but should I start out with the 30 or just go with the 150?
As for the substrate if the consencus is to start out with the 30 then I will just go with newspaper. With the 150 though from what I was reading i was thinking of going with a laminated floor bottom. Using pet safe silicone I would spread out play sand on it to give some traction. Also taking a play sand fill dirt mixture and spreading out this mixture over about 1/3 of the tank,1 1/2-2 inches deep. That would give the Dragon a natural place to dig in I think.

Your thought please,Thanks

CooperDragon

BD.org Sicko
Staff member
A 30gal is a good starter size. It will give a little one enough room to run around without feeling overwhelmed. From there I'd go to the 150gal. I'd start preparing that early with some nice ceramic tile floor. Paper towels or non adhesive shelf liner will be fine for the 30gal. If you wish to go with the 150 from the start, that is probably OK as well but you may want to partition it off at first to provide a cozier space for a small dragon.

I wouldn't use sand or any loose substrate, especially with a little one, because they lick everything in sight as they explore and if ingested it can cause impaction which can be fatal. You'll want to set up some rocks and/or logs for basking. You could use a reptile hammock as well. They love to climb.