New to the board and I already need help...

Status
Not open for further replies.

irwin'smom

Sub-Adult Member
Hello,
I just wanted to say Hi and introduce myself. I am new to being a Beardie mom. I rescued my boy about 1 month ago. I have raised many lizards but he is my first Beardie. His name is Irwin after the late great Steve Irwin.
He was not taken care of or handled since he was bought by his original owner. So contrary to a typical Beardie he is a mean one. He is a little over a year and is 15 inches long. He was living in a 10 gal tank when I picked him up. He had been living in the same tank his whole life with nothing in it but sand and a food bowl. He did provide him with a heat bulb and a UVB bulb but unfortunately the UVB bulb was covered with a plastic guard. He did not get supplements and was fed pellet food ONLY.
My problem I have is he will not eat his greens and veggies. No matter what I try he will not touch them. He will hold out for days till he gets his worms and crickets.
Is there a method to getting a Beardie to enjoy greens? Can a beardie do fine on a live prey diet only?
I am open to any and all suggestions. I love this lizard and he deserves the best since he had a pretty miserable life previously (even though he hates me).
Thanks for the time.

auntylolo

Extreme Poster