new to site and new to beardies

Status
Not open for further replies.
HEY guys.

MY name is clay and i am new to the reptile world and decided to get a bearded dragon. Im no shure if its male or female i really dont no how to tell. Its about 2 inches long so its just a baby. its name is baxter.

setup

29gal tank
100 watt basking light
curly uvb bulb in middle of tank
reptile carpet
small, shallow water dish

Temps
100F-Basking
75F-cool zone
49% humidity

Hows it sound

jscott

Gray-bearded Member
hello and welcome :D .

is your dragons seriously two inches long?! that like this:

|-----------------|

thats pretty dang small. if he really is that size you need to be extra carefull.

i hate to tell you but you gotta remove the curly light. they have caused many problems for users on this site. try to excange it for store credit, if you cant youll just have to eat the loss.

the 100 watt might be abit much. what are your temps durring the day and how are you measuring them? if your using a stick on dial thermometer dont bother. get a digital probe thermometer or a teperature gun, they are the only accurate way to go.

his hot spot should be no more than 110 but not below 100. he NEEDS to have a cool side too. his cool side should be whatever the ambient room temperature is in your house. if its not, your cage is too small for the heat source your using.

reptile carpet is ok but messy. make sure to clean it often and get all the poop out. i find tile works better, you can simply take it out and scrub it off with antibacterial soap.

remove the water dish as well. i wouldnt say its common, but it is possible for dragons to accidentaly flip upside down in their water and drown. it is rare for a bearded dragon to drink standing water anyhow. its far more common to spray their greens with water before they eat them. one of my 3 dragons drinks from a pipette, the other two just get moisture from their greens and bathtimes.